A Less Than Encouraging Update from Just South of Nowhere

Yes, I’m still in Mayberry

Paul Combs

--

Photo by author

I was looking back over the stories in my ongoing Mayberry Chronicles last night instead of actually writing like I should have been, and I noticed a trend that has, ironically, matched my real-life experience. The longer I’m here, the more I hate it and, consequently, the less I write about it.

That’s actually too harsh; I don’t hate it, at least not in the way I was raised to hate the Washington Redskins, the Soviet Union, and the Devil (in that order). Dislike is a better word, like the way I dislike ham and most music released since 2010. Semantics aside, I’m at the point where I would gladly trade all these damn East Texas trees for six blocks of Fort Worth concrete, even if I have to dodge a few stray bullets.

Anyway, if you don’t count an August update from my surprisingly literate cat and a Mayberry-adjacent Rate-A-Record in early September, it’s been several months since I wrote anything about life here in Just South of Nowhere, Texas. That’s mainly because nothing new has happened. Literally nothing.

For a long time, I thought new things were happening all the time. Every morning, I drive my 87-year-old stepdad to the gas station three miles from the house so we can drink coffee with some of his friends. It cuts into…

--

--

Paul Combs

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.