Throwback Thursday: Five Quotes By Fictional Authors All Writers Should Live By

Advice from the real pros

Paul Combs
2 min readMay 23, 2024

--

Photo by author

I’ve been writing on this site for long enough now that when a story idea appears, I need to search my nearly 1100 previous stories to ensure I didn’t have the same brilliant idea in May of 2021. Most of the time, I didn’t (I have a decent memory for what I’ve written), but today that luck ran out.

Having just published a new novel in The Last Word series, I’m in the post-publication funk that often strikes, and getting started on the next book is proving difficult. When faced with such a problem, I often turn not to advice from writing coaches (if they knew what they were doing they’d be famous novelists, not writing coaches) or motivational speakers (only Springsteen and Morrissey motivate me), but to fictional authors. Yes, I said fictional.

From Californication’s Hank Moody to The Angel’s Game’s David Martin, I have learned more from authors in books and movies than I ever learned in school. As I was desperately searching for Bailey’s Irish Cream for my coffee this morning (there was none to be found), I thought I would share some of my favorite quotes from fictional writers to both inspire myself and you, Dear Reader. However, a quick search revealed that I apparently had the same excellent idea almost exactly…

--

--

Paul Combs

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.