‘The Booksellers’ is a Superb Documentary Every Book Lover Must See

It’s a little slice of heaven for bibliophiles

Paul Combs

--

Image: kanopy.com

“There’s so much more to a book than just the reading.” — Maurice Sendak

It will come as no surprise to anyone who has followed me for any length of time that I have a soft spot in my otherwise hard heart for booksellers, and not just because I was one myself. I also love documentaries, as I have written here before multiple times. The 2019 documentary, The Booksellers, covers both of those loves superbly.

Before I discuss the film, I need to address those of you who groaned when you read the word “documentary.” I understand that especially those of a certain age immediately pictured a pack of hyenas descending upon a poor unsuspecting gazelle quietly grazing on the African savanna. This is not that. In fact, most documentaries are not that anymore, but that’s a story for another time.

The Booksellers is set in the world of antiquarian booksellers and collectors with the famous New York Antiquarian Book Fair as its centerpiece. From that center, it explores the world of rare book dealers, bookstores, and book collectors (the three go hand-in-hand); the profiles of the individual dealers are compelling enough that this could have easily been a multi-part series rather than a film…

--

--

Paul Combs

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.